by on June 7, 2019

Labourer CSCS Card


Watch the video guide for applying for a Labourer Card below:



Video by CITB

Card Requirements

You will need to have passed the CITB Health, safety and environment test within the last 2 years.

You can apply for this card if you have completed the QCF Level 1/SCQF Level 4 Award in Health and Safety in a Construction Environment or SCQF Level 5 REHIS Elementary Health and Safety Certificate. This is a lifetime qualification that only needs to be completed once and will be accepted in 5 years’ time when renewing your Labourer card.

To find out how to take this qualification contact your local college of further education, training centre or Jobcentre Plus. You can see a full list of awarding bodies offering this qualification here. They will advise you about training and assessment availability, pricing and whether funding is available.  Click on these links to view Training Centres approved by Cskills Awards (now NOCN)City & Guilds and Pearson.


Alternative Qualifications

CSCS also accepts alternative courses to the Level 1 Award/SCQF Level 4 Award and SCQF Level 5. These are shown below.

Training Providers and employers which offer training of the same standard as the Level 1 Award in Health and Safety in a Construction Environment can have their training assessed as an alternative course. Details on this process can be found here

Important note: Alternatives to the Level 1 Award/SCQF Level 4 Award and SCQF Level 5 may not be lifetime qualifications. This could mean that the learner will be required to complete a refresher course every 3-5 years before they can renew their Labourer card.

Awarding Organisation Course Name Validity of Course Website Link
BESA BESA – Site Operative Safety Course 5 years Click here
CIDORI CIDORI Introduction to Construction Course Lifetime course Click here
CITB Health and Safety Awareness Course 5 Years Click here
COSAC Safe2Site 5 years Click here
Drilling and Sawing Association DSA Health and Safety Awareness Course 3 Years Click here
Education and Skills Partnership ESP Foundation into Construction Certificates   No website
IOSH Working Safely (classroom assessed)

3 Years


Click here
NPORS NPORS Site Safety Awareness Course 5 years Click here
Priestman Associates Principles of Construction Site Health Lifetime course Click here
SPA – Safety Pass Alliance SPA – Core Construction Course 5 Years Click here
Steve Hoskin Construction Employee Training


You can also apply for this card over the phone by calling 0344 99 44 777. You will need to email evidence of your qualifications to prior to calling.

This card is valid for five years.

Go to the full Card Types list


Posted in: New to Construction
Topics: cscs, cscs card, labourer
Be the first person to like this.